• Source: Park Muskau, Germany; Photo: Michael Lee

    UVA Landscape Studies Initiative

    CCL Partners with The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and Jefferson Trust 

  • Hemmings’ cabin, Mulberry Row at Monticello
    Source: Mulberry Row, Monticello; Photo: Stephen Barling

    Restoration Roundtables

    2017-2018 Research Roundtable Series

  • Carr’s Beach, near Annapolis, Maryland, 1958
    Source: Carr’s Beach, 1958. WANN Radio Station Records, Archives Center, NMAH

    Mapping the Green Book and the Spaces In Between

    February Research Roundtable 


Spotlight on Cultural Landscapes

Everything Sings

In a recent article in Places Journal, geographer and independent scholar Denis Wood writes on his collaborative process with students to make maps for a narrative atlas.

In the piece, titled "Everthing Sings," he writes of the "imaginative drive to find the less 'mappable things'" and a "poetics of cartography" that allows us to envision communities as "less a place than a process... that would take an atlas to unravel: what a neighborhood is, what a neighborhood does, how a neighborhood works." 

You can read the full article here

Upcoming Events

Restoration Roundtables: Keith Bowers

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 12:00pm

Location: OpenGrounds

For nearly three decades, Keith Bowers has been at the forefront of applied ecology, land conservation and sustainable design. As the founder and president of Biohabitats, Keith has built a multidisciplinary organization focused on regenerative design—the blurring of boundaries between conservation planning, ecological restoration and sustainable design.